The Brazos Valley Area Alumnae (BVAA) Chapter of Delta Sigma Theta Sorority, Incorporated was conceived in the minds and hearts of twelve extraordinary women anxious to bring current Deltas back into the folds of our sisterhood and extend Delta’s commitment to public service and academic excellence to the Brazos Valley.

BVAA was chartered on August 9, 1986 at a ceremony conducted by Soror Marlin McCoy, the (then) Southwestern Regional Director at the Hearne High School cafeteria, in Hearne, Texas. Sorors from as far away as Houston and Dallas participated in this momentous event.

Over thirty years later we have grown in numbers and spirit and the original ideas of sisterhood, scholarship and service have withstood the test of time.

Brazos Valley Area Alumnae


Charter Line

August 9, 1986

Gloria Bundage
Irma Cauley
Erma Childs
Evelyn Davis

Delores Fisher
Agnes Gray
Joni Hoyle
Everon Robinson

Eliza Smith
Cassandra Taylor
Eva Thomas
Barbara Walker